GoDaddy, .htaccess, and mod_rewrite / RewriteRule

Posted: 2010/12/05 in Linux

After spending WAY too much time trying to (re)learn RewriteRule nomenclature, I kept running into errors using .htaccess on a site a friend has on GoDaddy.  Ugh!

Then I came across this post: http://community.godaddy.com/groups/web-hosting/forum/topic/htaccess-to-remove-php-extension/

Basically, all I had to do was add the line “Options -MultiViews” to my .htaccess file (I put it as the first line) and my RewriteRule lines started working!

Too important to not post!!

Comments
  1. Mahalie says:

    I refuse to work on GoDaddy servers. Too painful, especially for free.

Leave a Reply

